One of the key reforms being delivered in response to the Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety is in response to the need for information about service quality being easily available. As such, all residential aged care homes in Australia will have Star Ratings by the end of 2022. These Star Ratings will make it easier to compare the quality of residential aged care homes. 

Star Rating rules and requirements for each level will be available on My Aged Care.

How will the Star Ratings work?

Residential aged care homes will receive a rating of 1 to 5 stars, based on an overall Star Rating and four sub-category ratings:

  • Residents’ Experience
  • Compliance
  • Staffing
  • Quality Measures 

How are the Star Ratings calculated?

An aged care provider's total score of the 4 assessment categories is used to determine their star rating. 

Star Ratings will be identified as follows:

Star Ratings at SwanCare

While the implementation of Star Ratings will not have any implications to our current residents, SwanCare recognises that as an organisation, areas of improvement can always be made. However, we are confident in the high standards of health and aged care services we deliver each and every day and as such we welcome the introduction of Star Ratings and the increased transparency this will bring across the aged care industry.  

Further information on Star Ratings can be found on My Aged Care.  

Star Ratings: Residential Aged Care

The Department of Health and Aged Care have created an informative video which provides a simple overview on Star Ratings. Please click here to watch. 

Back to Top of the page